Morgansvlei Country Estate, originally known as Straatskerk is one of the original five farms granted to settlers in the 1700s, that came to the "The Land of Waveren" which was renamed Tulbagh in 1806.
Morgansvlei Estate was leased to Jannetjie de Clerq in 1710 by Simon van der Stel, Governor of the Cape of Good Hope.
Over the years, it was subdivided, and in late 1997 it was acquired by the Morgan family, who have fully restored the property that still boasts old Cape Dutch buildings, along with modern infrastructure and facilities.
There are several Cape Dutch buildings on the farm, including the original manor house. The accommodation on the farm is furnished and equipped to a high standard and has a unique story as it used to be the old horse stable, henhouse, and barn before being turned into luxurious Victorian-styled en suite bathroom suites.
In 2021 the Otto family become the proud new owners of Morgansvlei and are working on exciting new prospects.